Sunday, January 1, 2017


National Science Foundation
East Asia and Pacific Summer Institutes

Official Site
Organizer: National Science Foundation
Facebook: Here.

Official Program Overview: "The East Asia and Pacific Summer Institutes (EAPSI) goals are to introduce U.S. graduate students to East Asia and Pacific science and engineering in the context of a research setting, and to help students initiate scientific relationships that will better enable future collaboration with foreign counterparts. Selected students participate in research experiences at host laboratories in Australia, China, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Singapore, or Taiwan."

Program Eligibility: "As of the deadline date of the application year, applicants must meet all of the following criteria:
- U.S. citizen or permanent resident;
- Enrolled in a research-oriented master's or Ph.D. degree program (including joint degree programs);
- Students enrolled in joint Bachelor/Master's programs must have graduated from the undergraduate degree (if the student's institution considers them in graduate status, that student is eligible);
- Enrolled at a U.S. institution in the United States; and
- Pursuing studies in fields of science and engineering research and education supported by the National Science Foundation (see Section X in solicitation for details)."

Program Duration: "All institutes, except Japan, last approximately 8 weeks from June to August. Japan lasts approximately 10 weeks from June to August."

Cost: "Awardees will receive the following:
- $ 5,000 stipend.
- International round-trip airfare to the host location.
- Support for attending a pre-departure orientation in the Washington, D.C. area. Awardees will be reimbursed for the costs of attending the event.
- Abroad living expenses by foreign co-sponsoring organizations, and an orientation to the science environment and culture(s) of each location."

Admission Difficulty: Unknown.

Repeat Participants? Yes. "Previous EAPSI awardees may apply, but only to a new host location (Australia, China, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Singapore, or Taiwan)."

No comments:

Post a Comment